By April 14, 2017Article


Caption: Luke Marks (USA) scored the highest single-wave of an 8.50 yesterday and returns to Round Two, Heat 10 of the Barbados Surf Pro QS3,000. 
Credit: © WSL / Andrew Nichols

DRILL HALL BEACH, Barbados (Wednesday, April 12, 2017) – After a history-making day in Barbados, the World Surf League (WSL) Barbados Surf Pro Qualifying Series (QS) 3,000 has been called back ON for men’s Round Two. More swell is in the water and another big day of competition has taken shape for everyone involved. North America Tour Manager, Brian Robbins, and event organizers made the call right away when checking conditions this morning.

“Yesterday was a great day and already put us into a good place for the rest of the event so we’re hoping for more of the same today,” Robbins said. “We’ll start with men’s Round Two and keep Round Three, as well as women’s Round Three, on standby to reassess conditions for a call. We’re looking forward to another great day of competition and we have waves on offer so it should be a good one.”

A stacked heat kicks off men’s Round Two with Tanner Hendrickson (HAW) up against French threat Medi Veminardi (FRA) and yesterday’s standouts Peterson Cristanto (BRA) and current North America No. 1 ranked Jordy Collins (USA).

A big Round Two, Heat 9 matchup awaits last year’s Costa Rica Surf Open QS3,000 runner-up Olamana Eleogram (HAW) set to battle QS heavyweight Brian Toth (PRI), yesterday’s top performer Cole Houshmand (USA) and Barbados’ own Daniel Edghill (BRB).

Parker Coffin (USA), Noah Schweizer (USA), Seth Moniz (HAW)Taylor Clark (USA), and Jorgann Couzinet (FRA) are also set to make their debuts today alongside local wildcard Dane Mackie (BRB).

Tune in live at, or download the WSL App to stream the webcast to your mobile device, and enjoy all the action from opening day of the Barbados Surf Open Pro QS3,000.

Upcoming Barbados Surf Pro QS3,000 Men’s Round Two Matchups:
Heat 1: Tanner Hendrickson (HAW), Medi Veminardi (FRA), Peterson Crisanto (BRA), Jordy Collins (USA)
Heat 2: Parker Coffin (USA), Thiago Guimaraes (BRA), Pedro Neves (BRA), Ethan Egiguren (EUK)
Heat 3: Kalani Ball (AUS), Kevin Schulz (USA), Ty Watson (AUS), Gabriel Andre (BRA)
Heat 4: Lucca Mesinas (PER), Alonso Correa (PER), Mateus Herdy (BRA), Harrison Martin (AUS)
Heat 5: Makai McNamara (HAW), Andy Criere (ESP), Mikey Wright (AUS), Shaun Burns (USA)
Heat 6: Rafael Teixeira (BRA), Luke Dillon (GBR), Jacome Correia (PRT), Gatien Delahaye (FRA)
Heat 7: Seth Moniz (HAW), Tristan Guilbaud (FRA), Yage Araujo (BRA), Cobie Gittner (USA)
Heat 8: Shane Campbell (AUS), Tomas Fernandes (PRT), Elliot Paerate-Reid (NZL), Kaito Ohashi (JPN)
Heat 9: Olamana Eleogram (HAW), Brian Toth (PRI), Cole Houshmand (USA), Daniel Edghill (BRB)
Heat 10: Jackson Baker (AUS), Tomas Tudela (PER), Daiki Tanaka (JPN), Luke Marks (USA)
Heat 11: Lliam Mortensen (AUS), Slade Prestwich (ZAF), Weslley Dantas (BRA), Paul Cesar Distinguin (FRA)
Heat 12: Noah Schweizer (USA), Luke Hynd (AUS), Shuji Nishi (JPN), Chris Michalak (AUS)
Heat 13: Taylor Clark (USA), Flavio Nakagima (BRA), Gabirel Farias (BRA), Ryland Rubens (USA)
Heat 14: Jorgann Couzinet (FRA), Dane Mackie (BRB), Colt Ward (USA), Victor Mendes (BRA)
Heat 15: Miguel Tudela (PER), Manuel Selman (CHL), Knox Harris (USA), Fraser Dovell (AUS)
Heat 16: Takumi Nakamura (JPN), Yuri Goncalves (BRA), Jacob Burke (BRB), Jared Hickel (AUS)

Upcoming Barbados Surf Pro QS3,000 Women’s Round Two Matchups:
Heat 1: Alessa Quizon (HAW), Chelsea Roett (BRB), Zoe McDougall (HAW), Nicole Fulford (USA)
Heat 2: Mikaela Greene (AUS), Tia Blanco (USA), Rachel Presti (USA), Maddie Peterson (USA)
Heat 3: Holly Wawn (AUS), Garazi Sanchez Ortun (ESP), Frankie Harrer (DEU), Brittany Penaroza (HAW)
Heat 4: Philippa Anderson (AUS), Caroline Marks (USA), Nao Omura (JPN), Kloee Openshaw (USA)
Heat 5: Paige Hareb (NZL), Kirra Pinkerton (USA), Brisae Hennessy (HAW), Nagisa Tashiro (JPN)
Heat 6: Claire Bevilacqua (AUS), Maud Le Car (FRA), Tanika Hoffman (ZAF), Alyssa Spencer (USA)
Heat 7: Mahina Maeda (HAW), Tessa Thyssen (BLM), Leilani McGonagle (CRI), Kayla Coscino (USA)
Heat 8: Chelsea Tuach (BRB), Brianna Cope (HAW), Bailey Nagy (HAW), Cassidy McClain (USA)

Leave a Reply